Easy Peasy Soup

I have always wanted to make my own soup. It just seemed like something too easy not to do. The other day I was watching some cooking show I had never seen before on the Food Network. The lady in charge was showing how to make simple recipes geared towards college students looking to learn to cook. I don’t think of myself as the world’s greatest cook, but I do like to improve my game every now and then, so this show was right up my alley. I couldn’t seem to find the Food Network recipe online, but I remembered that it involved frozen peas, water, and a blender.

The frozen peas ingredient was key. I had this pound or so bag of frozen peas that was at least three years old. I tried to defrost some from the bag once, but they didn’t taste very good. In lieu of throwing away so many peas, I knew I had to make something more interesting than simply eating them heated up. A soup that involved heating the peas up, sounded like it could work.

unnamedHZNRPBCV
My Homemade Easy Peasy Soup!

The closest recipe I did find was here. I didn’t have everything that recipe called for, so I decided to go with what I had, tweak the recipe, and hope for the best. And boy, was it successful. I’m calling it my Easy Peasy Soup.

My ingredients:

– 1 tablespoon of olive oil
– 1 clove of garlic, minced
(I didn’t have any onion, which the original recipe called for 1/2 of, chopped, but I’m not the biggest fan of onion anyways, so I was ok leaving this out.)
– 1 bag of frozen peas (I used 2/3 of a pound because that’s what I had and the recipe didn’t specify how big of a bag to use.)
– 2+ cups of chicken broth (had I vegetable broth, I would have used that, but my options were chicken or beef.)

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add peas and broth, and cook until broth just begins to simmer.
  2. Carefully transfer the soup to a blender, cover, and blend until pureed to your desired texture. Add a little more broth to the blender if needed. Return the pureed soup to the pot.
  3. Heat pureed soup over medium heat until it bubbles and is heated throughout, stirring frequently. Thin out with more broth if needed.

The recipe made about three servings and it was delicious. I definitely plan on making more of this in the future!

One thought on “Easy Peasy Soup

Leave a Reply

