Zuke Bread

Usually, when one thinks of baked goods, unhealthiness comes to mind. And although I do enjoy baking, I wish that more of the recipes I like to bake are more healthy than not. I decided that perhaps making a zucchini bread could be in that category. As it turns out, this dessert-y bread packs a lot of sugar and oil, so it isn’t really the healthiest treat, however, because I used three whole zucchinis in the recipe, I suppose it could be a lot worse for you too.

I ended up with this recipe that I found online which made a dozen muffins and a loaf of bread. It makes quite a big batch, so halving this recipe would also make sense. Overall, I was quite pleased. Thankfully you can not actually taste the zucchini, and I found this to taste like a less sweet banana bread (probably due to the cinnamon and nutmeg that the recipe calls for). Happy baking!

Below I am copying the recipe I used:

3 large eggs
1 cup olive oil
1 3/4 cups sugar
2 1/4 cups grated zucchini (about 3 medium sized zucchinis)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups flour
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon Kosher salt

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Grease and flour either: 2 loaf pans, 2 muffin pans, or one of each.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs with a whisk. Mix in oil and sugar, then zucchini and vanilla. Combine flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Stir this into the egg mixture. Divide the batter into prepared pans.

Grated zucchini!
Grated zucchini!
unnamed-1
The batter ready to baked

Bake loaves for 60 minutes, plus or minus ten, or until a tester inserted into the center comes out clean. Muffins will bake far more quickly, approximately 20 to 25 minutes.

Finished product! Yum.
Finished product! Yum.
Leave a Reply

