Crushed By Christmas

I dread its arrival every year. It trickles in slowly and unassuming but I know its true nature. Before you know it you’re caught in an undertow, unable to escape. It’s around every corner, it glares at you from every window. It knows when you are sleeping. It knows when you’re awake. That’s right- it’s Christmas and by golly, I can’t stand it.

Some may argue that Christmas time is all about “togetherness” and “family” and feeling all warm inside. But when there is someone who doesn’t believe what you believe, tensions rise. I was not raised celebrating Christmas. December has always symbolized the opposite of what the Christmas media harks- to me it has come to mean “separateness.” Christmas time is the only time of the year when I am truly aware of how different I am from my peers and surroundings. On all other nights I feel right at home with blending in to anonymity.

I don’t want to be a Grinch. Sure, it would be nice to celebrate with the rest of you. But the thing is- I’ve never felt included during the Christmas season. “They never let poor Rudolf join in any reindeer games,” if you will. The “Grinch” idea is a terrible way to make the non-believers feel shamed. Why should those who don’t participate have to feel bad about it?

Christmas time is exploding with over-the-top feelings. People compete to see who can exhibit more joy and cheer than the next. And to those like me who don’t participate in a glorified birthday party, it is all so overwhelming. I’ll just stand back in disgust and confusion.

Perhaps what bothers me the most is how just this one holiday has expanded into the “holiday season.” Which, let’s be honest, to 90% of the world simply means that winter = Christmas time (which is totally false). Just because a significant holiday occurs to a major religion at some point in a season, does not mean a religious group can commandeer the whole season (or month) to be synonymous with that holiday.

Why can’t I just see a pine tree in the winter and only be seeing a type of tree that stays green year-round? Any image of a pine tree in winter is immediately connected to Christmas. Why can’t red and green just be colors opposite from each other on the color wheel and a bold and striking combination? When one sees the color pairing, they instantly think of the Christian holiday. If you don’t think that Christmas has taken over the world in a completely insane way, then you are kidding yourself and completely naïve to the power of religion.

Christmas is a dangerous force to be reckoned with. Don’t turn your back on the Christmas sorcery. If you aren’t careful, you could get sucked down the rabbit hole of never-ending illusion. That’s not what I would wish upon myself or anyone.

 

Leave a Reply

