Frozen Yogurt Breakfast

In this new year, mornings have turned to be quite frigid. We are now experiencing temperatures drastically different from a week or two ago. Over Christmas it was a comfortable mid-to-upper 50 degrees, and now we are left with highs in the low 30’s. None too pleasant, if you ask me.

With the changing wintry weather, I am also changing what I eat. The way I look at it, there are two camps: those who want to warm up and those who want to embrace the cold. If I’m going to have to wait for the bus in the morning and have my home-made food freeze, I might as well start out my mornings in the cold-embracing group. So I came up with my own frozen yogurt breakfast. You can wait for this to thaw out a little for it to be a little easier to eat too.

In a (portable) container add:

  • 1 C fat free vanilla yogurt
  • 1/4 C granola
  • a handful of frozen mixed berries (I used blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, and blackberries)
  • a dash or two of cinnamon

You are basically making a parfait and then freezing it. I left it in the freezer overnight. When you go to eat it, the yogurt will be crystallized and crunchy but if you let it thaw a bit, it will get soupy towards the bottom. The berries melt to be oozy and the cinnamon adds a nice hint of spice to round it all out. Enjoy!

breakfast

 

Leave a Reply

